Spiritual Indulgence; weaning myself off over sharing!

Standard

We’ve all been there. We’ve all had an experience, thought or idea that we thought was amazing. Too good to just share in conversion. So good, in fact, that we must orate it to our lucky audience.

No one else could possibly have had this experience; we alone must bear the burden of passing this amazing insight on to the world. Maybe we saw a special kind of light, perhaps a wonderful being spoke to us, we might have been given a special mission to fulfill or seen a particularly spectacular past life.

This makes us special, right? Wrong.

It was just an experience, it probably didn’t mean much and it might have included a generous dosage of imagination. No one’s immune to the Great Spiritual Experience (GSE). I once closed my eyes at night to go to sleep and saw flashes so blindingly bright that I thought one of my flatmates was taking the piss and taking photos of me in my sleep. Or the time I saw myself as a Victorian chimney sweep dying a sad and sooty death. Nice little story, not worth preaching about.

Also, don’t be intimidated by people who have these big experiences, or think that they’re better or more evolved than you. People get information in different ways, most generally in the way that they will notice and listen to. What for one person might be include flashes of light, beautiful beings emerging from said light and singing a piece of information, might for you just look like a thought popping into your head. Not better, not worse, just different.

If you, or one of your friends, have a GSE acknowledge it, enjoy it, but don’t believe in it. There’s a very thin line between getting fantastic information in a mediation that would help people, and demanding a stage and crowd to watch you spirituality masturbate.

You’re probably not The Messiah, nor Jesus reincarnated, nor Kali in human form. Most likely you’re a nice, normal little person, with nice, normal (not so) little issues. Enjoy your GSEs, they’re fun. They can be insightful, entertaining and useful. But if you’re telling a ‘spiritual’ story where you say ‘I’, ‘me’ or ‘my’ more than twice per sentence, check that your ego isn’t hijacking the experience.

*What have been your most ‘OMG, I am the Messiah, better go tell everyone’ moments?*

About Jade Doherty

Oh my, 'about mes' are harder than they look! Hello, I'm Jade. Having been intrigued by this whole blog thing for a while I thought I'd give it a go. You can expect some sarcasm, mixed with some self-depreciation and, if we're lucky, topped off some interesting things to ponder. As my interests are pretty eclectic, it's likely that this blog will be too. My main interests are self inquiry, reading, Philosophy, watching crime TV shows that make me feel clever, football, looking at pretty pictures. Oh who am I kidding, my main interest is myself! So this blog will be about me, although I'm sure I'll find more subtle and refined ways to be self-indulgent! As a retired over-achiever, I'm trying to find what I enjoy, rather than what I'm good at. So far this includes drinking copious amounts of tea, having a laugh and writing. So get comfy, make yourself at home, and enjoy perusing my musings! xx

2 responses »

  1. How do you stick a balance between the part of you who needs to survive in this modern world by having a regular 9 to 5 job and your other side, your higher self? How do you balance the benefit’s of both worlds?

    • Good question! I don’t know, I think everyone who is ‘spiritual’ and doesn’t live in cave has to find a balance. Taking the best bits of both worlds, or not seeing them as two separate worlds, and listening to yourself to guide you through the world of bright, neon lights that we inhabit.

      My fave way to get the best of both world’s is to watch satsangs online!

      Jade

Leave a Reply

